

## **40th Girls Basketball State Tournament**

Athletic Directors and Girls Basketball Coaches:

I hope the fall season has been enjoyable and rewarding for you and your school community. As everyone is gearing up for the beginning of another basketball season, I wanted to touch base with you to provide some details regarding this year's basketball state tournament.

I am pleased to inform you that girls basketball championship games will be on Saturday, March 1, 2024, at Longwood University. All eight semi-final games will be played at the Brock Center on the campus of Longwood University on Friday, February 28<sup>th</sup>, 2025 (9am, 10:30, Noon, 1:45, 3:45, 5:30, 7:15 and 9pm). The Division III and Division IV State Championship games will be played in Willett Hall on the campus of Longwood University on Saturday, March 1<sup>st</sup>, 2025 (10am, Noon). The Division I and II State Championship games will be played in the Brock Center on the campus of Longwood University on Saturday, March 1<sup>st</sup>, 2025 (4pm, 6pm).

Below are the tentative dates for the 2024-2025 VISAA Girls Basketball State Tournament. Please mark all four dates on your calendar.

First Round Tuesday, February 25th at higher seed (5-12)

Quarter-Finals Wednesday, February 26th at higher seed

Semi-Finals Friday, February 28th at Longwood University (Brock Center)

Finals Saturday, March 1st at Longwood University (Willet Hall & Brock Center)

A reminder, only member schools of the VISAA are eligible to participate in the state tournament. Membership dues and all required school information must be submitted to VISAA in order for a school to be eligible for participation. If you have any questions concerning your school eligibility, contact Adam Brick at: <a href="mailto:abrick@visaa.org">abrick@visaa.org</a>.

Divisions for this year's tournament are based on the enrollment numbers provided by member schools in September 2023 to VISAA. This year, the girls basketball programs have been divided into four divisions, with each division competing for a championship. We will continue to select 12 teams from each division to participate in the tournament. Division breakdowns are already posted on the VISAA website and you should look there if you need to know who is in what division.

We will continue to use the 30 second shot clock for all rounds of the Division I Tournament, ONLY. We will use the 30 second shot clock rules we used last year, which are posted on the VISAA website under Girls Basketball.

Please be sure to send your rosters, game schedule, and results to AP Prep Scores and post on MaxPreps as soon as possible. Polls will be published every Tuesday, beginning January 14, 2025.

Finally, listed below are VISAA financial policies pertaining to hosting VISAA championship events.

- Host school will be responsible for absorbing all expenses involved in hosting first round and quarterfinal games of VISAA championship events.
- Host school must charge admission to the event and send the income with financial form within <u>fourteen days</u> of the event. Admission Charge for first round and quarterfinal games is \$5.00.
- There will be a \$50 penalty for monies and forms not received within **fourteen days**.
- There will be a \$100 penalty for monies and forms not received within thirty days.
- Failure to charge admission at events or not returning financials forms within deadlines may result in a school not hosting in that sport for the following school year.
- Forms can be found on the VISAA Website under "Members Only" and then "Forms".

Don't hesitate to contact me or any member of the committee if you have questions. You can contact me at: <a href="mailto:kara.bacile@stewardschool.org">kara.bacile@stewardschool.org</a> or 804-441-5869.

## Sincerely,

## Kara Bacile

## VISAA Girls Basketball State Committee:

Kara Bacile, Chair – The Steward School

Scott Allen-St. Paul VI Catholic High School

Phil Stinnie – St. Anne's-Belfield School

Cameron Battle – The New Community School

James Braxton – The Miller School of Albemarle

Kevin Coffey – Collegiate School

Frank Kahrs – Grace Christian School (Staunton)

Larry Starr – The Blessed Sacrament Huguenot School

Sedrick Winston - Flint Hill School

Becky Barvick – Chelsea Academy

Donald Palmer – Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School

Cornelius Snead- Saint Margaret's School

Andrew Riddick – StoneBridge School

Chance Reynolds, VISAA Board Liaison – Fuqua School